WHQ: Silver Tower – Halfling Fieldwarden

flingfieldwarden

For some reason,  I continue to hijack my efforts to paint the models that actually come in the box…so here comes another custom hero!

I’ve long been a fan of the wee folk ever since I started playing in fantasy worlds in about 1980. Perhaps it was too many viewings of the Rankin-Bass versions of The Hobbit and Return of the King?  Maybe it’s due to one of my favorite Basic D&D illustrations, by Jeff Dee, featuring a bold halfling holding his own during group planning with a more towering member of the party? Likely because I admire their rural lifestyle and long to live out in the country down in a hobbit hole.

discussion

Whatever the reason, I had to get one into the Silver Tower. Now, I’m not even sure if halflings exist in this modern era of the Age of Sigmar, but again one of the strengths of the antagonist being the Gaunt Summoner is that perhaps this agent of change is able to pull heroes from across time. I’ve recently posted a 40K character and a player from the Blood Bowl universe…now, keeping within a GW-verse, here’s a hero from the Old World.

Initially, I envisioned this character to be a hardened and experienced member of Lupin Croop’s Fighting Cocks. However, I was convinced that ‘Halfling Fighting Cock’ may not be the best character title. ‘Fieldwardens’ were also a position in the Old World, so let’s go with that. Besides, none of the other characters have such a specific title…I don’t think. Fieldwarden is nice and generic. I suppose in the head cannon of my games he can be a member of the renowned Fighting Cocks.

“For the Moot!”

halfling-fieldwarden

Note: I can’t take full credit for the paint job on the mini above. He’s a re-claimed/re-purposed Mordheim mini that a buddy initially painted up for one of his warbands. I touched up Mr. Furryfoot, re-based him, and brought him to the tower.

Leave a Reply

